Our Mission

The mission of American Indian Community House (AICH) is to improve and promote the well-being of the American Indian Community and to increase the visibility of American Indian cultures in an urban setting in order to cultivate awareness, understanding and respect.

AICH is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization serving the needs of Native Americans residing in New York City.

AICH was founded in 1969, by Native American volunteers as a community-based organization, mandated to improve the status of Native Americans, and to foster inter-cultural understanding.

AICH membership is currently composed of Native Americans from 72 different tribes. Native American migration between urban centers and reservations demonstrates the inter-relatedness of all Native Americans, and from this reality emerges the recognition that our issues and concerns are truly shared.

AICH Board

AICH Volunteer Executive Director: Curtis Harris-Davia (San Carlos Apache)
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Contact: cdavia@aich.org

Board of Directors

AICH Chairperson: Rick Chavolla (Kumeyaay)
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Contact: rchavolla@aich.org

AICH Vice-Chairperson: Lance Richmond (Mohawk)
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Contact: lrichmond@aich.org

AICH Secretary: James Cody Silas (Shinnecock/Blackfoot)
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Contact: james.c.silas@gmail.com

AICH Treasurer: Frances Grumbly (Mohawk)
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Contact: fgrumbly@aich.org

Renee Hunter (Shinnecock)
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Contact: rhunter@aich.org

John Scott-Richardson (Haiiwa-Saponi)
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Contact: jrichardson@aich.org

Cynthia Kent (Southern Ute)
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Contact: NJcyndi@live.com

Betty Lyons (Onondaga)
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Contact: blyons13120@yahoo.com

George Stonefish (Delaware/Chippewa)
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Contact: gstonefish@msn.com

AICH Volunteer Staff Members
Aru Apaza, Noel Altaha, Mary Brown, Claudette Bryant, Tony Enos, Melissa Oakes, Anastasia McAllister, Sheldon Raymore, Shawnee Rice, Phillip Stands, Genesis Tuyuc, Patricia Tarrant